Just Wondering…

Just Wondering…
By Pastor Lee Hemen
April 12, 2014

Will the LORD be pleased with thousands of rams, with ten thousand rivers of oil? Shall I offer my firstborn for my transgression, the fruit of my body for the sin of my soul? (Micah 6:7 NIV)

Have you ever wondered dear child of God, ”Is the Lord pleased with me?” Micah continues as the worshipper and asks, “Will the LORD be pleased with thousands of rams, with ten thousand rivers of oil? Shall I offer my firstborn for my transgression, the fruit of my body for the sin of my soul?” Perhaps if he just brought more sacrifices, God would be pleased with him? He then could approach a Holy God. We often think by our multitude of doing things, we are honoring God. We think to ourselves, “If I just do more!” Yet we are reminded of the words of God, “This is the one I esteem: he who is humble and contrite in spirit, and trembles at my word.” (Isaiah 66:2 NIV) David knew in his own sinful condition that, “You do not delight in sacrifice, or I would bring it; you do not take pleasure in burnt offerings. The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit; a broken and contrite heart, O God, you will not despise.” (Psalms 51:16-17 NIV) There are not enough dead animals or vast rivers of oil that could please God to excuse our ungodliness! God is not pleased with the amount of our sacrifice, but with the brokenness of our heart. However, in his insecurity, the worshipper goes on to ask, “Shall I offer my firstborn for my transgression, the fruit of my body for the sin of my soul?” What he doing is what a lot of folks begin to do with God when they know they are in sin; he begins to bargain with God! He ups the ante so to speak! “I promise I will do this, I promise to do better; I promise to bring an even greater sacrifice! I know I will sacrifice my firstborn!” And, sadly, many of us do that very thing when we go our own way instead of living for a Holy God. We arrogantly sacrifice those around us, “the fruit of my body for the sin of my soul”! This was sinful and wicked; but such offerings had been made by the Babylonians and the Assyrians, and this very custom was copied by the corrupt Israelites! Who are you willing to sacrifice for your silly sin? We should never forget that “Christ was sacrificed once to take away the sins of many people”! (Hebrews 9:28) In fact, “with burnt offerings and sin offerings [God was] not pleased” (Hebrews 10:6) and that “we have been made holy through the sacrifice of the body of Jesus Christ once for all”! (Hebrews 10:10) How in the world can I please the Lord, only through sacrifice, and Jesus already did that for us! Makes one wonder…

Leave a comment

Filed under Just Wondering

Leave a Reply

