Just Wondering…

Early in the morning Samuel got up and went to meet Saul, but he was told, “Saul has gone to Carmel. There he has set up a monument in his own honor and has turned and gone on down to Gilgal.” When Samuel reached him, Saul said, “The LORD bless you! I have carried out the LORD’s instructions.” But Samuel said, “What then is this bleating of sheep in my ears? What is this lowing of cattle that I hear?” Saul answered, “The soldiers brought them from the Amalekites; they spared the best of the sheep and cattle to sacrifice to the LORD your God, but we totally destroyed the rest.” “Stop!” Samuel said to Saul. “Let me tell you what the LORD said to me last night.” “Tell me,” Saul replied. (1 Samuel 15:12-16 NIV)

I was just wondering,  have you ever been around folks who know what they are doing is wrong yet they try to justify themselves with lame spiritual answers? You know what I mean, with answers like, “I think it is God’s will.” “I think this is best for our family.” “I believe God is leading us to do…” Lame. Lame. Lame.

Saul was like this when confronted by Samuel after he did what he “thought” God wanted as well, and yet he knew better. God had made him king. God had given him a tremendous victory. God had taken someone who was not very skilled, not very well connected, and only kind of liked and made him His leader! But Saul thought he knew better than God did, even after God had specifically told him what he was to do; and what he was not to do. God in giving His people His will or plan for their lives is never ever blurry in the details. He does not make His people guess. Nor does He allow them to use Him for their spiritually fuzzy ungodly decisions. Look at Saul’s pathetic answer. It is basically the same lame answer folks give today when they know what they are doing is ungodly but they want to justify their own actions. Dear child of God what lame answer are you using to justify your ungodliness, thinking you are being godly? You know better.

In this New Year, why not realize that God desires sacrifice more in your life than your personal comfort. He desires you follow Him even when it is personally difficult for you to do so and that may mean staying the course right where you are. Change has never been brought about by catering to your personal needs or desires, it is brought about by lives lived sacrificially for the Lord. Can you imagine Samuel telling God, “Lord, I have tried and tried to tell that thick-headed Saul he was wrong but he just won’t listen, so I am going to the next thing I think I is best.” What would have happened if Samuel bailed on God?

Now, let me ask you, “What then is this bleating of sheep in my ears? What is this lowing of cattle that I hear?” Be very careful of the excuses you give. Makes one wonder…


This article is copyrighted © 2013 by Lee Hemen and is the sole property of Lee Hemen, and may not be used unless you quote the entire article and have my permission.

Leave a comment

Filed under Just Wondering

Leave a Reply

