Just Wondeirng…

I was just wondering, what are you living your life for? I drove by the old house one of my mentor’s lived in for many years. He and his wife are with the Lord now, but his story is one of courage, trust, and triumph. They both left everything and everyone they knew to come out to the Northwest to plant Baptist churches. He was a gentle and remarkable man for the Lord.

It got me to thinking about others who have impacted my life over the years, who stood out in their faith, risked it all to serve the Lord. One young man left a career as a surgeon to become a pastor. He had worked hard through medical school, maintained a 4.0, but never missed a Sunday. In fact, he worked in his church’s children’s department. He is now serving in Canada.

I had a professor in Seminary who had several degrees and deliberately quit teaching so he could pastor a small California congregation. Then there was a young lady who left her home, family, and friends here and went to the mission field. Her longest journey before doing so was down South to receive her training. She had never be farther than a few miles from her home before.

I remember others who worked full time at other jobs so they could serve in their churches as Pastors on the weekend. Some loaded up everything they owned in trailers and brought their new wives to the mission field, stayed, and began churches all over the Northwest.

I have had the joy of meeting college students who came here for the summer, were impacted by what they experienced, went home to tell their families they were going to come back north to serve. They are a blessing and a wonder to me.

We live in a day and age where much of our lives are focused on us, whether it is in picking a church, finding life’s companion, or living our faith. Far too many live shallow and hollow lives of faith. They will leave little behind that will last for future generations. If you are reading this and you are trying to decide what to do with your life, nothing could be greater than giving it away, risking it all, and sacrificing yourself to serve the Lord where He desires.

I am reminded of the words of Paul, who at the end of his extraordinary life wrote, “For I am already being poured out like a drink offering, and the time has come for my departure. I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith. Now there is in store for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will award to me on that day—and not only to me, but also to all who have longed for his appearing.” (2 Timothy 4:6-8 NIV)

What and for whom are you living your life for? Makes one wonder…

Scripture taken from the HOLY BIBLE, NEW INTERNATIONAL VERSION®. Copyright © 1973, 1978, 1984 Biblica. Used by permission of Zondervan. All rights reserved.

Pastor Lee Hemen has been the outspoken pastor of the same church for 27 years in Vancouver, WA. He writes regularly on spirituality and conservative causes and maintains several web blogs. This article is copyrighted © 2013 by Lee Hemen and is the sole property of Lee Hemen, and may not be used unless you quote the entire article and have my permission.

Leave a comment

Filed under Just Wondering

Leave a Reply

