Just Wondering…

I was just wondering, what do you think being an example means? You know what I mean; can others – like parents or children or spouses — trust you whether you are with them or away from them? You do not mind if the mythical Santa sees you when you are sleeping, knows when you are awake, and you are always good for goodness sake! Do you act the same; have the same values and morals? Perhaps being an example for you is only what you do when you know you are being watched. Then of course, you realize that the One who knows you intimately always watches your actions so you are always a fine upstanding example. Someone who has consistent ethics that are not just for the situation you find yourself in for the moment. Your principles motivate your actions and not your emotions. Makes one wonder…

Pastor Lee Hemen has been the outspoken pastor of the same church for 27 years in Vancouver, WA. He writes regularly on spirituality and conservative causes and maintains several web blogs. This article is copyrighted © 2012 by Lee Hemen and is the sole property of Lee Hemen, and may not be used unless you quote the entire article and have my permission.

1 Comment

Filed under Just Wondering

One response to “Just Wondering…

  1. We are our real selves when no one is watching. However, we know that God is always watching which can be both comforting and intimidating.
    Psalm 139:1-4
    You have searched me, Lord,
        and you know me.
    2 You know when I sit and when I rise;
        you perceive my thoughts from afar.
    3 You discern my going out and my lying down;
        you are familiar with all my ways.
    4 Before a word is on my tongue
        you, Lord, know it completely.

Leave a Reply

