Carrie Prejean better Christian Witness than “America’s Pastor?”

Carrie Prejean better Christian Witness than “America’s Pastor?”
By Pastor Lee Hemen
May 12, 2009

I would have to say an unequivocal “yes” to that question. Why? Because I remember when Rick Warren, who desperately desires to be known as “America’s pastor,” who appeared on CNN’s Larry King TV show and he blandly offered his waffling stand on homosexuality and gay marriage with the following: “In the first place, I am not an anti-gay or anti-gay marriage activist. I never have been, never will be. During the whole Proposition 8 thing, I never once went to a meeting, never once issued a statement, never. Never once even gave an endorsement in the two years Prop 8 was going. The week before the, the, vote, somebody in my church said, ‘Pastor Rick, what, what do you think about this?’ And I sent a note to my own members that said, I actually believe that marriage is – really should be defined, that that definition should be – say between a man and a woman.”

Contrast this rather shallow sycophantic answer of Rick Warren’s to that of Carrie Prejean and her consistent witness for her straight forward answer to a trumped up question by a radical gay activist pageant judge Perez Hilton whether she believed every U.S. state should legalize same-sex marriage. She responded, “Well I think it’s great that Americans are able to choose one way or the other. We live in a land where you can choose same-sex marriage or opposite marriage. You know what, in my country, in my family, I do believe that marriage should be between a man and a woman, no offense to anybody out there. But that’s how I was raised and I believe that it should be between a man and a woman.” She did this on national TV at a pageant that is seen around the world, knowing it was going to cost her the crown. She was the front runner until she spoke her beliefs.  And, she has never backed away from the answer she gave. For once the blonde beauty queen stood a lot taller than a middle-aged pastor who is supposed to be teaching his congregation, and vicariously the rest of us through his myriad of Christian best sellers, the theology of a Christian lifestyle. Frankly I am proud of Prejean and ashamed of Warren. There is no excuse for a pastor who claims to be a conservative evangelical and a Baptist to give the answer he did.

Lest you think I am being a bit too harsh read what Warren continued to whine in order to make is sound as if he were all things to all people: “And then all of a sudden out of it, they made me, you know, something that I really wasn’t! And I actually – there were a number of things that were put out. I wrote to all my gay friends, the leaders that I knew, and actually apologized to them. That never got out. There were some things said that, you know, everybody should have 10 percent grace when they say public statements. And I was asked a question that made it sound like I equated gay marriage with pedophilia or incest, which I absolutely do not believe. And I actually announced that. All of the criticism came from people that didn’t know me. Not a single criticism came from any gay leader who knows me and knows that for years, we’ve been working together on AIDS issues and all these other things.” What? What in the world does this mean? It sounds like a man who desperately wants everyone to like him rather than a Christian pastor of Jesus Christ who is willing to take public mocking for his Christian faith and view of homosexuality and gay marriage.

Prejean walked out with Donald Trump and boldly declared that she gave the answer she thought best for her upbringing and who she was as a Christian. It reflects a fine outstanding young person who willingly stood tall in a situation where she knew she would be vilified by a liberal media and vapid and rabid homosexual lobby.

Prejean who grew up in an evangelical Christian home in Vista, California and is currently a senior at San Diego Christian College, a small, evangelical liberal arts college located in El Cajon, California, speaks a lot to her upbringing and her witness. She also attends The Rock Church, where she volunteers with their outreach ministries such as Luv-em-Up Ministries in El Cajon, where she volunteers with members with developmental disabilities.

While I may not like some of the photos she has posed for, she is a contemporary model and the ones I have seen were done in that vein. But folks, come on, what a difference between a beauty queen and her verbal and outspoken witness for what she believes as a Christian concerning the perversion of homosexuality and gay marriage and that of the one who desperately desires to be known as “America’s Pastor,” ala Rick Warren.

This article is the copyrighted 2009 © property of Lee Hemen and may not be copied or reproduced in any way shape or form without using the full text of this entire article, and getting the permission of its author.

Leave a comment

Filed under Emergent Church, Today's World

Leave a Reply

