Today’s Thoughts, Psalm 33:21

by Pastor Lee Hemen
July 2, 2008

In him our hearts rejoice, for we trust in his holy name. (Psalms 33:21)

What does your heart rejoice over? Love of country? The flag snapping in the breeze? An old soldier’s love of country? The return of a loved one? A good game of football or baseball? The love of your children, spouse, or others? Laughter of children, the cry of birds, the singing of a choir? Wind in the leaves? The smell of the ocean? A crisp clear autumn day? The smell of evergreens during Christmas? What does your heart rejoice over?

When I look into the word of the Lord, my heart rejoices. It rejoices over the fact that His Son knew He would face a horrible death, yet sat at a table calmly teaching His disciples spiritual truths to hold them and the heart together after He was killed. My heart rejoices over reading about Him standing in a synagogue and telling His hometown, “Today in your sight this passage has been fulfilled.” My heart rejoices over knowing that He loved me before the creation of the world, of the universe, before anything was made! My heart sings over the fact that my selfishness, my rebellion, my ungodliness was not enough to keep my Lord from loving me and going to the cross. I rejoice over Him, my Savior and my God.

Dear child of the Lord, what does your heart rejoice over today? Do you trust in His holy name? Oh, I pray that you know what that means and that you truly do.

NOTE: This article is copyrighted by Pastor Lee Hemen © 2008 and the property of Pastor Lee Hemen. You are welcome to copy it, email it, or use it but please if you copy it, email it, or use it you must do so in its entirety.

Leave a comment

Filed under Today's Thoughts

Leave a Reply

