Today’s thoughts, Song of Solomon 2:1-4

By Pastor Lee Hemen
May 1, 2008

I am a rose of Sharon, a lily of the valleys. Like a lily among thorns is my darling among the maidens. Like an apple tree among the trees of the forest is my lover among the young men. I delight to sit in his shade, and his fruit is sweet to my taste. He has taken me to the banquet hall, and his banner over me is love. (Song of Solomon 2:1-4)

Did you ever sing, “He’s the Lilly of the Valley, the Bright and Morning Star, the fairest of ten thousand to my soul!” or “He sets me down at His banquet eating table, His banner over me is love?” Many of us have. One is an old hymn and the other is an old camp song, but both come from this piece of very intimate prose by Solomon. Why? The authors of both of these songs, saw in this section of Solomon’s poem, our Savior and Lord Jesus Christ. However, it was not written to Him, it was written by love smitten lovers for one another! Yet in this beautiful Song of Solomon we discover the love and devotion of our Lord as it is directed toward us and as we should love Him as well. I find it interesting and kind of humorous that when early Biblical scholars read this they were often so embarrassed by its message they had to make it fit Jesus instead of its actual message of two lovers caught up in their devotion for one another.

This being the first day of May, what better way to start a brand new month than with a love song to our Lord. He is definitely far more wonderful than any flowers that bloom, or sweeter than honey from off the comb. Wait a minute! Isn’t that a song as well? And doesn’t it come from Scripture too? See, everywhere you go in the Bible you read about Jesus in almost every page, and the same is true when you go out into the world He created. Everywhere you look there are the handprints of God.

I watched the movie “Expelled” with a friend of mine. It is about how people who even hint that they believe or want discussion on Intelligent Design are ostracized, fired, and black-balled worse than anything from the 50s Communism scare. In one sequence of the film Ben Stein is asking noted atheist Richard Dawkins about it. Dawkins declares that there is no God. Stein asks him to put a percentage on it. He agrees to 99% assurance that there is no God. Stein asks him why not 97% or 95% OR 45%, why 99% that there is no God. Then Dawkins makes a startling admission when he confides that there could be intelligent design because it can be seen but that it was probably done by space aliens that seeded earth! Stein looks at him incredulously and asks, “Who created the aliens?” Dawkins quickly tries to save himself by saying that they evolved through Darwinian evolution. It was hilarious that even a rabid atheist had to admit that he saw design in nature that could only be explained by intelligent design.

In every blade of grass, in every child that plays;
In every song that is sung, and every tree that sways.
I find Him in the quiet spaces and in the busy streets.
I see Him on the simple faces of the people that I meet.

And just when I think that there could not be His touch,
I find Him in all the things that I love so much.
He is in the clear bold blue sky or in the spider’s web.
I sense Him in the early morn, when I sleepily crawl out of bed.

He is the happy wags of my little dog’s tail, and the kisses of my wife.
And at the closing of the day, He guards and keeps my life.
Oh, I find my Master’s hand in everything I see,
From the lofty majestic mountains to the wind-driven seas.

But most of all I discover Him best when I am quiet and alone.
It is there within my own life that He has made His home.
Where do you find the loving Lord? A rose, a star, in art?
Is He found there deep inside within your inner heart?

Dear child go out and discover the Lord today.
Look at all of creation or children as they play.
Sit by a sunlit window and open up His delightful Word,
I know that it is there at last, where you will find the living Lord.

NOTE: This article is copyrighted by Pastor Lee Hemen © 2008 and the property of Pastor Lee Hemen. You are welcome to copy it, email it, or use it but please if you copy it, email it, or use it you must do so in its entirety.

2 Comments

Filed under Today's Thoughts

2 responses to “Today’s thoughts, Song of Solomon 2:1-4

  1. Pingback: the banner hymn

  2. DA1

    A nice commentary.

Leave a Reply

