Today’s Thoughts, Revelations 3:20

by Pastor Lee Hemen
April 25, 2008

Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with him, and he with me. (Revelation 3:20)

You are sitting at home enjoying the TV and someone begins to knock on your door. It isn’t too late at night but it is late enough that you wonder who in the world could it be? You really do not want to be bothered by another salesman. You are comfortable. You were perhaps even thinking about heading for bed. It has been a long day and you want to be left alone. You try to ignore the knocking, but the light taping continues until you have to get up and open the door. Would you do that?

Most of us would but there are those who ignore that rapping. They see it as an intrusion, a personal affront to their own self-made harmony of life. They are nice people and are getting by in the world and they do not want or need someone annoying them by knocking on their door so late in the day! And that is a perfect picture of the self-satisfied world that exists today. Yet notice what Jesus says: “Here I am!” “I am right here, right outside of your door.” “I could be somewhere else but I chose your door out of all the other doors on the block!” He is a messenger of choice. He chose the door He would knock on, no one else did. “Here I am!” And note as well He is standing right outside of the door knocking on it. You are on the other side. You are the one who has to “hear” His “voice and open the door.” While God does the choosing, you have to listen and decide. He is drawing you to invite Him in so that you can “eat with Him.”

Notice Jesus says, “To him who overcomes, I will give the right to sit with me on my throne, just as I overcame and sat down with my Father on his throne.” (Revelation 3:21) You have to be the one that overcomes your doubt, fear, and rejection of the message He brings to your door.

The writer of Hebrews says, “But Christ is faithful as a son over God’s house. And we are his house, if we hold on to our courage and the hope of which we boast. So, as the Holy Spirit says: ‘Today, if you hear his voice, do not harden your hearts as you did in the rebellion, during the time of testing in the desert, where your fathers tested and tried me and for forty years saw what I did. That is why I was angry with that generation, and I said, “Their hearts are always going astray, and they have not known my ways.” So I declared on oath in my anger, “They shall never enter my rest.”’ See to it, brothers, that none of you has a sinful, unbelieving heart that turns away from the living God. But encourage one another daily, as long as it is called Today, so that none of you may be hardened by sin’s deceitfulness. We have come to share in Christ if we hold firmly till the end the confidence we had at first. As has just been said: ‘Today, if you hear his voice, do not harden your hearts as you did in the rebellion.’” (Hebrews 3:6-15)

Our hope and courage is in opening the door to the knocking we hear and allowing the Lord to come in and fellowship with us. We enter His rest as we ask Him into the “home” of our lives. There we will find rest. When we confess with our mouth and believe in our hearts, we have opened the door.

Today, do you hear a light tapping that just will not go away? Jesus has chosen your door from all the other doors on the block to knock on, open it wide and let Him in.

“Here I am!” Jesus says, “I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with him, and he with me.”

NOTE: This article is copyrighted by Pastor Lee Hemen © 2008 and the property of Pastor Lee Hemen. You are welcome to copy it, email it, or use it but please if you copy it, email it, or use it you must do so in its entirety.

Leave a comment

Filed under Today's Thoughts

Leave a Reply

