Today’s Thoughts, Song of Solomon 2:10-13

by Pastor Lee Hemen
April 24, 2008

My lover spoke and said to me, “Arise, my darling, my beautiful one, and come with me. See! The winter is past; the rains are over and gone. Flowers appear on the earth; the season of singing has come, the cooing of doves is heard in our land. The fig tree forms its early fruit; the blossoming vines spread their fragrance. Arise, come, my darling; my beautiful one, come with me.” (Song of Solomon 2:10-13)

It is that time of year again in the northern hemisphere when the earth turns itself towards the warmth of the sun’s rays and spring comes again to a cold and dreary landscape. The writer Solomon wrote of two lovers who sang love songs to one another and here we find them talking to one another about the passing of winter. It is a beautiful scene. It reminds me of our relationship with our Lord. Why? Well, He spoke lover’s language to us as well. Oh, yes dear one He did!

Jesus whispers to us His beloved, “I am the vine; you are the branches. If a man remains in me and I in him, he will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.” (John 15:5) The word “remain,” which is “abide” in the KJV is a lover’s term. It means to walk with as side-by-side like lovers do as they walk beside one another. Jesus desires that we walk with Him in the love of God: “As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you. Now remain in my love.” (John 15:9)

In fact, Jesus tells us how to do just that: “As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you. Now remain in my love. If you obey my commands, you will remain in my love, just as I have obeyed my Father’s commands and remain in his love. I have told you this so that my joy may be in you and that your joy may be complete. My command is this: Love each other as I have loved you.” (John 15:9-12)

We know that we remain in Jesus as we love one another and as we love God. It will be evident in the lives of those who love God completely and others as themselves.

Just as the warmth returns in the spring, the love of God is evident in the life of His own who love Him and love others. His blossom of love is an active verb. It means to sacrificially follow the Lord and sacrificially love those around us as we live for Him in this wintery world. We bring the warmth of the Holy Spirit and the new life of the gospel message to the cold fallow ground around us as we proclaim its message of new life.

Here in the Northwest winter’s grip has been hard but even now the crocus, tulip, and daffodils are pointing their blooms heavenward. Birds are building their nests and the trees are forming their buds and blossoms as well. Spring has returned! Can you feel it in your soul today? Oh, I pray so. If not let the warmth of the gospel message invigorate your weary winter-stained soul and return to Him today. Listen. He is whispering to you, “I am the vine, you are the branches… Arise, my darling, my beautiful one, and come with me. See! The winter is past; the rains are over and gone. Flowers appear on the earth; the season of singing has come, the cooing of doves is heard in our land. The fig tree forms its early fruit; the blossoming vines spread their fragrance. Arise, come, my darling; my beautiful one, come with me.”

NOTE: This article is copyrighted by Pastor Lee Hemen © 2008 and the property of Pastor Lee Hemen. You are welcome to copy it, email it, or use it but please if you copy it, email it, or use it you must do so in its entirety.

Leave a comment

Filed under Today's Thoughts

Leave a Reply

