Today’s Thoughts, Psalm 121

by Pastor Lee Hemen
April 3, 2008

I lift up my eyes to the hills– where does my help come from? My help comes from the LORD, the Maker of heaven and earth. He will not let your foot slip– he who watches over you will not slumber; indeed, he who watches over Israel will neither slumber nor sleep. The LORD watches over you– the LORD is your shade at your right hand; the sun will not harm you by day, nor the moon by night. The LORD will keep you from all harm– he will watch over your life; the LORD will watch over your coming and going both now and forevermore. (Psalms 121:1-8)

Ever have “one of those days?” I did… TODAY, in fact! Kitchen faucet breaks off, Jeep problems with a mechanic, and my back, oh my aching back! Literally! My back really hurts because I must have wrenched it in someway. I know, I know, I sound like: “Poor old me!” don’t I?

I figure though that the Lord needed to get my attention in someway today in order to let me know I am not as self-sufficient as I seem to think I am! Yep, even baldheaded onery pastors such as myself need to be made to stop and contemplate where our help really does come from.

In the days of King David they would watch for reinforcements to come riding over the hill and so they would place a watch to keep looking for it when it crested the nearest mound. David realized that the “Maker of heaven and earth” was where his help truly came from. We are to be dependent upon the Lord to see us through the tough times of life, not just with kitchen faucets and jittery Jeeps but with the real defining moments when all help seems far away. The Lord who watched over Israel, keeps a vigilant eye on those He loves. He does not slumber nor does He sleep. He is our shade and our guardian forevermore!

It is funny what you mutter when you are under a sink with water dripping in your eye and how when you allow the Lord to guide you and lift you up how that muttering becomes a hymn for Him. So, dear child of the Lord if your car goes on the fritz or your toilet overflows or the job seems a little bit difficult, the Lord is there with you. He is willing to see you through and help you to sing a different song. One of confidence and joy knowing that your help comes from the hills of the Lord. See? Even now the Lord’s army is cresting the rise.

NOTE: This article is copyrighted by Pastor Lee Hemen © 2008 and the property of Pastor Lee Hemen. You are welcome to copy it, email it, or use it but please if you copy it, email it, or use it you must do so in its entirety. This devotional will follow Morning by Morning by C H Spurgeon. You may use it however you desire.

2 Comments

Filed under Today's Thoughts

2 responses to “Today’s Thoughts, Psalm 121

  1. marcus

    I would really like you to help me finding a psalm that helps finding a job

  2. Teach us to number our days aright, that we may gain a heart of wisdom. Relent, O LORD! How long will it be? Have compassion on your servants. Satisfy us in the morning with your unfailing love, that we may sing for joy and be glad all our days. Make us glad for as many days as you have afflicted us, for as many years as we have seen trouble. May your deeds be shown to your servants, your splendor to their children. May the favor of the Lord our God rest upon us; establish the work of our hands for us— yes, establish the work of our hands. (Psalms 90:12-17)

    However, no Scripture will “find” a job for you, you have to go out and find it yourself. The Bible or God are not our personal genies in a bottle that grants our wishes.

Leave a Reply

