Today’s Thoughts, Matthew 15:22-28

by Pastor Lee Hemen
March 27, 2008

A Canaanite woman from that vicinity came to him, crying out, “Lord, Son of David, have mercy on me! My daughter is suffering terribly from demon-possession.” Jesus did not answer a word. So his disciples came to him and urged him, “Send her away, for she keeps crying out after us.” He answered, “I was sent only to the lost sheep of Israel.” The woman came and knelt before him. “Lord, help me!” she said. He replied, “It is not right to take the children’s bread and toss it to their dogs.” “Yes, Lord,” she said, “but even the dogs eat the crumbs that fall from their masters’ table.” Then Jesus answered, “Woman, you have great faith! Your request is granted.” And her daughter was healed from that very hour. (Matthew 15:22-28)

Can you believe it? A filthy Canaanite woman wants our Master to help her daughter. Those dirty people never give up do they? They are all the same, wanting something for nothing, never working for the glory of God, not caring about themselves. Thinking that we, the chosen people of God, would have anything to do with them. The righteous with the unrighteous, is she insane? We need to go to Jesus before she creates a scene or worse, Jesus actually listens to her!

“Jesus, we urge you to send her away, because she keeps crying out after us and it is embarrassing. She is after all just a Canaanite woman of no consequence.”

He must help me. My daughter is so ill with this demon inside her. I have heard that He is able to cast out demonic influences and make those possessed whole again. “Lord, Son of David, have mercy on me!” I know I am just a Canaanite woman to Him and His followers, but my daughter means more to me than any self-righteous Israelite. And I believe He is the only one who can help me. I believe He is someone special.

Now we will get some action. Ah, ha! The Master just told her that He was “sent only to the lost sheep of Israel.” What do you mean that this makes no sense that He already has healed a Roman soldier’s servant. Yes, I know He just reminded us that the spiritual leaders of Israel are “blind guides” best left behind. That it is what is inside a person that makes them unclean, can He not sense then that this pagan woman is unclean inside and out?

“Lord, help me!” He must hear my cry, my heart, my soul, for if I lose my daughter I have nothing left. He is the only one who can help, the only one I can depend upon, the only one that can save her and perhaps me as well! The only one. I am willing to give up everything if He would but hear my cry.

“It is not right to take the children’s bread and toss it to their dogs.”

“Yes, Lord, but even dogs eat the crumbs that fall from their master’s table.” All I want is a crumb. All I want is for you to hear my heart’s cry. All I desire is for her to be healed. Can you hear me Jesus? Will you hear me, Jesus? You are this “dog’s” last hope…

Gently Jesus looks at her with compassion, knows her heart, and replies, “Woman, you have great faith! You request is granted.”

“Granted,” what a beautiful word! A word that would always be remembered in this woman’s life. She would later tell anyone who would listen about her meeting with Jesus and His willingness to say, “Your request is granted!” Later, the woman would learn her daughter was healed at that very moment that word was uttered. The disciples would learn that even those thought to be without any hope can place their hope in Jesus and He would respond. For it is what is in a person’s heart that makes them unclean. And if a person’s heart is willing to sacrifice all for the sake of Jesus healing it, it will be made whole.

How great is your faith? Is it as great as a Canaanite woman who was willing to eat the crumbs off the floor of her Master’s table in order to have Him listen to her one request? Oh, I pray it is.

NOTE: This article is copyrighted by Pastor Lee Hemen © 2008 and the property of Pastor Lee Hemen. You are welcome to copy it, email it, or use it but please if you copy it, email it, or use it you must do so in its entirety. This devotional will follow Morning by Morning by C H Spurgeon. You may use it however you desire.

Leave a comment

Filed under Today's Thoughts

Leave a Reply

