Today’s Thoughts, Psalm 8:1-9

March 20, 2008
by Pastor Lee Hemen

O LORD, our Lord, how majestic is your name in all the earth! You have set your glory above the heavens. From the lips of children and infants you have ordained praise because of your enemies, to silence the foe and the avenger. When I consider your heavens, the work of your fingers, the moon and the stars, which you have set in place, what is man that you are mindful of him, the son of man that you care for him? You made him a little lower than the heavenly beings and crowned him with glory and honor. You made him ruler over the works of your hands; you put everything under his feet: all flocks and herds, and the beasts of the field, the birds of the air, and the fish of the sea, all that swim the paths of the seas. O LORD, our Lord, how majestic is your name in all the earth! (Psalms 8:1-9)

Today is my birthday. Nothing fancy, just me and my wife celebrating over a couple of nice t-bone steaks. We even did it big time and went to Wal-Mart to buy towels for our bathroom. I know, I know, you are thinking “Wow! What a over the top life you live, Pastor!” Whatever you may think, I had a fantastic birthday. You know why? Each day I am reminded of just how majestic God truly is. I can see it in the heavens He created, hear it in the laughter of His children, or when I experience it in the love of my family and friends. But most of all in the fact that the Creator of the universe loved me enough that He chose me to be one of His own. What more could I want or desire than that?

Today was indeed great. I had a friend buy me lunch, got to tease his son who is learning the restaurant trade, and I not only got those steaks cooked by my lovely wife, but I also got a card from my daughter that proclaimed me the “greatest Dad who ever lived!” Now, I ask you what more could any reasonable person want or need in life than these? I just have to sing like David did:

O LORD, our Lord, how majestic is your name in all the earth! You have set your glory above the heavens. From the lips of children and infants you have ordained praise because of your enemies, to silence the foe and the avenger. When I consider your heavens, the work of your fingers, the moon and the stars, which you have set in place, what is man that you are mindful of him, the son of man that you care for him? You made him a little lower than the heavenly beings and crowned him with glory and honor. You made him ruler over the works of your hands; you put everything under his feet: all flocks and herds, and the beasts of the field, the birds of the air, and the fish of the sea, all that swim the paths of the seas. O LORD, our Lord, how majestic is your name in all the earth! (Psalms 8:1-9)

Can you? Oh I pray you can.

NOTE: This article is copyrighted by Pastor Lee Hemen © 2008 and the property of Pastor Lee Hemen. You are welcome to copy it, email it, or use it but please if you copy it, email it, or use it you must do so in its entirety. This devotional will follow Morning by Morning by C H Spurgeon. You may use it however you desire.

Leave a comment

Filed under Today's Thoughts

Leave a Reply

