Today’s Thoughts, 2 Corinthians 12:7-9

March 4, 2008
by Pastor Lee Hemen

“To keep me from becoming conceited because of these surpassingly great revelations, there was given me a thorn in my flesh, a messenger of Satan, to torment me. Three times I pleaded with the Lord to take it away from me. But he said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.’ Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.” (2 Corinthians 12:7-9)

Many folks love to quote verse 9 of the above passage from the Apostle Paul and forget about why he wrote it in the first place. Sure, our weakness is perfected in Christ because it is there we are willing to listen. It is there we have to depend upon Him alone and not ourselves. Yet least we forget why Paul wrote it take a closer look as to the reason: “To keep me from becoming conceited because of these surpassingly great revelations, there was given me a thorn in my flesh, a messenger of Satan, to torment me.” (2 Corinthians 12:7)

Paul, like many of us, could get conceited concerning his spiritual life in the Lord. “What?” you may incredulously ask, but it is true! We often get conceited in Christ when we reduce Him to someone who is there only to be our genie in a bottle, best friend for the moment, or crying pillow. Certainly Jesus can and does help in these situations yet far too often we American Christians think that God wraps His world around us instead of visa versa. Here is a startling statement for many of you: God does not revolve around you!

He hangs with those who are willing to humble themselves, be the servants He has called them to be, and those who are willing to put others before their selfish selves. He loves and empowers those beautiful saints who place His kingdom and His righteousness first. Go figure!

So, today if you are struggling because your best bro’ Jesus seems to be faint in your life perhaps it is because He is! Maybe you need to stop focusing all of your attention on yourself and put others first including your relationship with the Lord. His grace is sufficient for you, and His power is made perfect in your weakness!

NOTE: This article is copyrighted by Pastor Lee Hemen © 2008 and the property of Pastor Lee Hemen. You are welcome to copy it, email it, or use it but please if you copy it, email it, or use it you must do so in its entirety. This devotional will follow Morning by Morning by C H Spurgeon. You may use it however you desire.

Leave a comment

Filed under Today's Thoughts

Leave a Reply

